Deadline approaches to enter Innovate Awards 2023

The Innovate Awards trophies.

The Innovate Awards 2023, which celebrate innovation in health and care close for submissions on Friday 19 May. Back for its second year the awards are delivered collaboratively between the AHSN Network and NHS Confederation.

Following the high standard and volume of entries received in 2022, a new category has been added to celebrate the best use of data in health innovation.

There are 11 award categories to enter as well as the grand prix – winner of winners – award. Anyone working in integrated care communities – local authorities, care providers and other NHS health and social services will be able to enter. These awards represent a golden opportunity to tell the story of those who have collaborated and developed new initiatives to support better health outcomes for patients.

The 2022 ‘winner of winners’ title was awarded to Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust’s (LPT) confidential ChatHealth text messaging service, a risk-managed messaging helpline platform available for more than six million people to easily and anonymously get in touch with a healthcare professional.


Laura Serra, Marketing Manager for the Digital Health Transformation Service from LPT said:

“We were first encouraged to enter the Innovate Awards by East Midlands AHSN who we’ve worked with since ChatHealth was first developed 10 years ago. They’ve been instrumental to the growth and spread of the service. The awards came at the right time as we were looking for opportunities to help spread ChatHealth across the NHS and were wanting to make new connections. It gave us the exposure we wanted and lots of opportunities have come our way since winning our own category and the ‘winner of winners’ title.

“The night itself was brilliant and it was amazing to see what other innovations were out there and feel part of a celebration to value and recognise our work in health and care innovation. We’ve shared the honour of winning our awards with the incredible health teams from over 70 NHS trusts who have adopted ChatHealth. We wish all the best for those entering the Innovate Awards 2023.”

Read the AHSN Network’s Meet the Innovator interview with ChatHealth.


Richard Stubbs, Vice Chair of the AHSN Network and CEO at Yorkshire and Humber AHSN said:

“We’re excited that following the success of last year’s Innovate Awards, we’re bringing them back for a second year. It’s so important to recognise and appreciate the UK’s amazing innovators who are passionate about delivering better health outcomes for patients. 

“Healthcare innovation is vital to help tackle some of the biggest challenges facing the NHS. As the NHS celebrates its own 75th birthday, it’s inspiring to be able to showcase some of the healthcare innovations that will help the health service to continue to deliver effective and sustainable care throughout the decades to come.

“In 2022 we received nearly 200 entries, all of which were of an extremely high standard, which has allowed us to open a new category for 2023: Best Use of Data in Health Innovation. Good luck to all our 2023 entrants.”

The 11 award categories to enter this year are as follows:

  • New for 2023: Best Use of Data in Health Innovation
  • Net Zero Innovation of the Year
  • The Diversity in Innovation Award
  • Excellence in Patient and Public Involvement in Transformation and Innovation
  • Innovation Spread Award
  • Best Workforce Innovation
  • Innovation Helping Address Health Inequalities
  • Outstanding Contribution to Population Health Through Innovation
  • Innovative Health System of the Year
  • Outstanding Collaboration with Industry
  • Enabling Safer Systems of Care Through Innovation.

The final, 12th, ‘winners of winners’ award– Innovation Champion of the Year – will be selected by the judges from across the other category winners.

The closing date for submissions via the Innovate Awards website will be midnight on Friday 19 May 2023.

The final winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London on 21 September 2023. More information on how to register to attend this event will be released soon.

For more information about the Innovate Awards contact the organising panel at or visit the Innovate Awards website.

More about the AHSN Network
There are 15 Academic Health Science Networks (AHSNs) across England, which form the AHSN Network. Established by NHS England in 2013, AHSNs spread innovation at pace and scale – improving health and generating economic growth.


More About NHS Confederation
NHS Confederation is the representative body for the NHS in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Back to top